Bookmark This Page

HomeHome SitemapSitemap Contact usContacts

Patti Labelle Peach Cobbler

The exceptionally talented Pop artist Patti Austin has released her CD entitled Avant Gershwin. I am very confident and happy to announce that I believe Patti Austin fans, and Pop fans alike will be pleased with this one. With the release of Avant Gershwin Patti Austinís artistic excellence is on full display as Austin has once again delivered a brilliant collection of tracks that could very well be her best work to date.

It's a rare day indeed that I get a CD from an artist that I can truthfully say does not have a bad track in the bunch. I'm more than happy to announce thatís exactly what I must say about this one. There simply is NOT a bad one in the bunch. No fillers here at all.

Pop music fans will recognize some of the well known contributors on the project including WDR Big Band among others plus a few other notables as well.

Listen to Avant Gershwin and I believe youíll find there's not much to dis-like about it. The songs are inspired, the production is simply outstanding, and Patti Austin is clearly in top form. So much so that if you're even mildly into Pop music you'll enjoy this album.

While the entire album is outstanding the truly standout tunes are track 2 - I'll Build A Stairway To Paradise, track 4 - Funny Face, and track 6 - Swanee.

My Bonus Pick, and the one that got Sore [ in "Stuck On REpeat"] is track 7 - Progy & Bess Medley. Wow!

Avant Gershwin Release Notes:

Patti Austin originally released Avant Gershwin on Mar 6, 2007 on the Rendezvous Entertainment label.

CD Track List Follows:

1. Overture / Gershwin Medley
2. I'll Build A Stairway To Paradise
3. Who Cares
4. Funny Face
5. Love Walked In / Love Is Sweeping The Country
6. Swanee
7. Porgy & Bess Medley
8. Lady Be Good

Release Notes Composers: George Gershwin; Ira Gershwin; Irving Caesar; B.G. DeSylva.

Personnel: Patti Austin (vocals); WDR Big Band.

conference call