Bookmark This Page

HomeHome SitemapSitemap Contact usContacts

Fruits Basket Episode 9 In English

Nominated for 17 Emmys in its short four-year run, Soap premiered in the Fall of 1977 as one of the most controversial shows in American television history (and all before a single episode ever aired). The show was opposed by many groups who thought its subject matter would be too mature for a prime-time audience. But Soap never overstepped its bounds, and the show became an instant smash hit with its brilliant and satirical spoofs of classic daytime programming. Sporting an all-star cast and talented producers, the show spawned successful spin-off Benson in 1979, a series that launched Robert Guillaume's career to a whole new level...

Set in suburban Connecticut, Soap follows the lives of two sisters - Jessica Tate (Katherine Helmond), a wealthy yet dim elitist, and Mary Campbell (Cathryn Damon), a housewife in a more traditional blue-collar atmosphere. But regardless of their social station in life, neither woman manages to escape the scandal and intrigue surrounding a typical soap opera family. Jessica's daughter Corrine (Diana Canova) is smitten with a priest, yet they are both having an affair with the same tennis pro. Meanwhile, Jessica and her husband Chester (Robert Mandan) incessantly cheat on one another. As for the other side of the family, Mary's husband Burt (Richard Mulligan) is certifiably insane, her son Danny (Ted Wass) is a mobster, stepson Jodie (Billy Crystal) is an out-of-the-closet homosexual, and all of them are caught up in a family filled with promiscuous infidelities and quite possibly murder! Throw in the insubordinate and sarcastic Tate butler Benson (Guillaume), and Soap holds its own as one of the funniest sitcoms in TV history…

The Soap (Season 2) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere in which Jodie and Carol move in together, and Carol learns that she's pregnant with Jodie's baby. Meanwhile, Father Tim and Corrine announce their wedding, and Chester goes to prison when he confesses to killing Peter, following Jessica's conviction… Other notable episodes from Season 2 include Episode 32 in which Carol's father strenuously objects to his daughter's impending marriage to Jodie, and Episode 47 in which the two families work together to perform an exorcism on Corrine's baby while Burt is apparently abducted by aliens…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Soap (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 26 (Episode 26) Air Date: 09-14-1978
Episode 27 (Episode 27) Air Date: 09-21-1978
Episode 28 (Episode 28) Air Date: 09-28-1978
Episode 29 (Episode 29) Air Date: 10-05-1978
Episode 30 (Episode 30) Air Date: 10-12-1978
Episode 31 (Episode 31) Air Date: 10-19-1978
Episode 32 (Episode 32) Air Date: 11-02-1978
Episode 33 (Episode 33) Air Date: 11-09-1978
Episode 34 (Episode 34) Air Date: 11-23-1978
Episode 35 (Episode 35) Air Date: 11-30-1978
Episode 36 (Episode 36) Air Date: 12-07-1978
Episode 37 (Episode 37) Air Date: 12-14-1978
Episode 38 (Episode 38) Air Date: 12-21-1978
Episode 39 (Episode 39) Air Date: 01-04-1979
Episode 40 (Episode 40) Air Date: 01-11-1979
Episode 41 (Episode 41) Air Date: 01-18-1979
Episode 42 (Episode 42) Air Date: 02-01-1979
Episode 43 (Episode 43) Air Date: 02-08-1979
Episode 44 (Episode 44) Air Date: 02-15-1979
Episode 45 (Episode 45) Air Date: 03-01-1979
Episode 46 (Episode 46) Air Date: 03-08-1979
Episode 47 (Episode 47) Air Date: 03-15-1979

About the Author

Britt Gillette is author of The DVD Report, a movie review site where you can find more reviews like this one of the Soap (Season 2) DVD Review.